Inducting an individual into the COS Hall of Fame is one of the highest awards the College of the Sequoias can present to someone. It is reserved for those that have made significant contributions to the betterment of the College of the Sequoias, the community and society in general. The contributions take many forms, but always reflect positively on the college. 

The College of the Sequoias is inducting four new Hall of Fame members on Thursday, October 11th: Dr. Darin Padua, Harry Tow, Alan Wiechman, Members of the 1957 COS Baseball Team 

The induction ceremony and dinner will be held from 5:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. in the Dr. Thomas S. Porter Field House on the COS Visalia campus. The public is invited. Tickets to attend the dinner and induction ceremony are $50 and may be purchased online HERE​ or by phone by calling 559.730.3861.

2018 Inductees

Dr. Darin Padua: Dr. Padua serves as Professor and Department Chair of Exercise and Sport Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  He began working in 2001 and during his employment with UNC he has served as Program Director for the Undergraduate Athletic Training Education Program.  He has also served as director of the sports medicine research laboratory since 2009.

Darin has received the medal of Distinguished Research in Athletic Training by the National Athletic Trainers Association Research and Education Foundation.  This is the highest recognition for lifetime research given by the association.  Darin also received the “Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer” award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association.  He has served as chair for multiple national committees for research:  Research Committee – National Athletic Trainers’ Association Foundation; Research Advisory Group – National Academy of Sports Medicine; Scientific Advisory Board – Fuionetics; Scientific Advisory Board – Physimax.

Harry Tow: Mr. Tow served as Visalia’s City Manager from 1958 – 1972 before entering into private practice in 1972 for Quad Consultants now known as QK Inc.

Mr. Tow is a diplomat of the American Academy of Environmental Engineering Intersociety Board and a member of American Society of Civil Engineers.  He has been awarded Visalia Chamber of Commerce Man of the Year in 1977; Water Environment Federation, Boy Scout Council Man of the Year in 1981 and 2015; Outstanding Civil Engineer in Private Sector, Northern California in 2016; Bishop’s Cross, Episcopal Diocese of San Joaquin.  His other significant accomplishments is being a husband and father; Being a representative of California’s cities on the State Water Quality Board; Chair, St Paul’s School Board; Kaweah Delta Hospital Foundation; Visalia Industrial Park.  Harry served on the COS Foundation Board from 1991-1997.

Alan Wiechman: Mr. Wiechman participated on the design teams for Have Blue (the first real flying stealth aircraft), F-117A Nighthawk (stealth fighter aircraft) and Sea Shadow (the first naval stealth ship) in the early conceptual design, where he and the teams were faced with designing and inventing concurrently. The designs were developed from practical experience, using new techniques in radar absorbing materials, sound suppression and reduction of visual signatures. This pioneering effort gave the Nation a 15-year lead over potential adversaries, a lead the Nation continues to enjoy because of the work that continues to this date. He has contributed directly on the F-15, F-18E/F, F-23, and the Bird of Prey. The Bird of Prey aircraft was donated to the National Air Museum of the Air Force, where it is proudly displayed in the Modem Flight Hanger. Mr. Wiechman is currently a partner and Chief Technology Officer for Eagle Aerie Inc.

Mr. Wiechman has been awarded numerous honors for his contributions to the nation's defense, including the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Aerospace Design Award and the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) Combat Survivability Award for Technical Achievement. In 2004, he received the Pioneers of Stealth award, a prestigious honor bestowed by the industry and government founders of the Stealth technology.  Mr. Winchman's a consultant to MIT/LL in Boston, consultant to Dayton, OH for the Air Force and is currently on the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board.

​1957 COS Baseball Team: 

Winning a baseball state championship amongst all California community colleges is very difficult. The 1957 COS Baseball team is the only COS team that has done so in the college's history. This unique group of talented athletes that banded together at just the right time to take the state championship are remarkable as individuals and as a team. Many players went on to play university and professional baseball. All have wonderful stories of accomplishments in career​ and community. They represent what is possible while here at the College of the Sequoias and thereafter. 

Team members included: Ernie Tressler, Frank Alves, Jim Hansen, Ted Hiltel, Bill Key, Mike Guy, Roy Taylor (Coach), Buddy Burgess, Mel Silva, Jim Garrett, Marv Weekley, Dick Doepker, Glen McMillan, Joe Hernandez, Babe Castillo, Paul Morrison, Bill Ryan, Joe Murillo, Thurman Zearley, Jim Chatham, Art Browning, Gene Graves, Ben Reniker, Mike Wlasichuk

 COS will host the 2018 Hall of Fame Induction and dinner to celebrate these individuals’ lifelong achievements on:

Thursday, October 11th

COS Porter Field House in Visalia

***Ticket Sales Have Ended for This Event***

For event inquiries or to donate to the COS Hall of Fame Scholarship Fund, 
contact the COS Foundation Office at 559-730-3861 

Nominations for Future Hall of Fame Inductees

The College fo the Sequoias is always seeking additional nominations to the Hall of Fame. Anyone can nominate an individual to the COS Hall of Fame. Download your Hall of Fame Nomination form here: Nomination Form​

Last Updated: 10/9/2018 3:22 PM