​Payment Plans

It is the policy of COS that the registered owner or person responsible for parking citations, who qualify for indigent status, shall be allowed to enroll in a payment plan.  This policy is in response to changes made to the California Vehicle Code as a part of Assembly Bill 503 (CA Vehicle Code 40220).

To see if you qualify for indigent status and a payment plan, please review the information below. 

Payment plans must be set-up in person at the District Police Department located in the Blue Oak Building on the Visalia Campus during regular business hours (8:00 AM to 4:45 PM / Mon-Fri).

Policy

A registered owner (CVC 460 & 505) or person responsible for the citations, who meet indigent status, shall be eligible to enroll in a payment plan. 

  • ​​Any citations associated with the vehicle, registered owner, or person responsible may be included in the payment plan at the time of enrollment.
  • If additional citations are issued while a payment plan is in place, the plan will not be modified to include the new citations, nor will a concurrent payment plan be offered.
  • Citations in a payment plan will not be used toward immobilization/tow/impound (booting) requirements pursuant to CVC 22651(i)1. 
Individuals who meet one or more of the following determinations of indigency will be approved for special processing as required by 40220 VC.  The following areas meet the requirements for approval:
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and State Supplementary Payment (SSP) (Article 5 (commencing with Section 12200) of Chapter 3 of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids Act (CalWORKs) (Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 11200) of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code) or a federal Tribal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (Tribal TANF) grant program (Section 10553.25 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (Chapter 51 (commencing with Section 2011) of Title 7 of the United States Code) or the California Food Assistance Program (Chapter 10.1 (commencing with Section 18930) of Part 6 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • County Relief, General Relief (GR), or General Assistance (GA) (Part 5 (commencing with Section 17000) of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • Cash Assistance Program for Aged, Blind, and Disabled Legal Immigrants (CAPI) (Chapter 10.3 (commencing with Section 18937) of Part 6 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) (Article 7 (commencing with Section 12300) of Chapter 3 of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • Medi-Cal (Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 14000) of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code).
  • An applicant whose monthly income is 125 percent or less of the current poverty guidelines updated periodically in the Federal Register by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under the authority of paragraph (2) of Section 9902 of Title 42 of the United States Code.​
If an applicant's indigent status is found to have been willfully fraudulent, his or her fines and fees reduction shall be overturned and the full amount of fines and fees shall be restored.

The fee to enroll in the payment plan is five dollars ($5.00).  

Payment plans will allow the payment of unpaid parking fines and fees to be paid off in monthly installments of no more than twenty-five dollars ($25) for total amounts due that are four hundred and fifty dollars ($450) or less. However, unpaid parking fines and fees shall be paid off within 18 months. There shall be no prepayment penalty for paying off the balance prior to the payment period expiring.

An approved payment plan waives all late fees and penalty assessments, if an indigent person enrolls in the payment plan. Waived late fees and penalty assessments may be reinstated if the person falls out of compliance with the payment plan.

Applications for indigency determination / payment plans must be received within 60 calendar days from the issuance of the most recent parking violation, or 10 days after the administrative hearing determination, whichever is later.  The registered owner or lessee who fails to enroll in the payment plan within the time specified in the notice or who is not eligible for the payment plan because he or she is not indigent, will not be approved.

When a registered owner or lessee falls out of compliance with the payment plan, a one-time extension of 45 calendar days from the date the plan becomes delinquent to resume payments will be given before the payment plan is cancelled and a DMV hold is initiated.  

Payments must be made each calendar month.

  • ​Once a payment date is set, there is no grace period for late payments.  One 45-day grace period is allowed...don't waste it on a late payment.
  • Payments cannot be made on-line.  Payments can be mailed to the Police Department or paid in person at the Police Department (check or money order only). 
  • For mailed payments, a postmark is acceptable to meet this requirement.
  • The District will work with the individual to determine the term of repayment. 
  • All payments will be due by the 5th day of each month.
  • No invoices or payment reminders will be sent.   

This policy shall not affect individual campus procedures for using the Franchise Tax Board or the student hold process for fee collection.
​​

​​​​​​​​

Last Updated: 7/2/2018 8:02 AM